India team for Chess Olympiad Dresden 2008

Sasikiran and Harika lead India

India has announced the teams for the Chess Olympiad in Dresden. We will not see Anand lead the men team, nor Koneru lead the women. Anand will dedicate all his time to the upcoming match with Kramnik. Humpy Koneru has stated that she prefers to concentrate on the European Club Cup where she will seek another title with her club Cercle d’Echecs de Monte-Carlo.

The teams of India will be led by Krishnan Sasikiran and Harika Dronavalli. GM Sasikiran had a very strong performance at the Mtel Masters 2007 where he worked with Lev Psakhis, who will be the coach of the olympic team for Dresden. IM Harika has recently won the World Junior title and had strong performance at the WWCC.

India team for the Chess Olympiad, Men

GM Krishnan Sasikiran

GM Pentala Harikrishna

GM Surya S Ganguly

GM Sandipan Chanda

GM G.N. Gopal


Grandmaster Lev Psakhis

India team for the Chess Olympiad, Women

IM Dronavalli Harika

IM Tania Sachdev

WGM Nisha Mohota

WGM Mary Ann Gomes

WGM Swati Ghate


Grandmaster Elizbar Ubilava