India National A Chess Championship

the future of chess in an India chess super show

The super show of the India National A Chess Championships has started. The men section will be played in the Karnataka Bank Auditorium in Mangalore, while the women section is in the Russian Art and Cultural Centre in New Delhi, both featuring many of the top stars of Indian chess.

Men section participants: GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly 2603, GM Parimarjan Negi 2597 GM Das Neelotpal 2477, GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J 2464, IM Ponnuswamy Konguvel 2463, IM Rathnakaran K 2458, IM Sriram Jha 2458, GM Praveen M Thipsay 2444, Thejkumar M S 2441, IM Adhiban B 2439, IM Swayangsu Satyapragyan 2417, IM Shyam Sundar M 2402, IM Kore Akshayraj 2400

Women section participants:IM Tania Sachdev 2425
WIM Nadig Kruttika 2387,
WGM Karavade Eesha 2386,
WGM Soumya Swaminathan 2326,
WGM Ghate Swathi 2320,
WGM Nisha Mohota 2312,
WGM Mary Ann Gomes 2298,
WIM Padmini Rout 2235,
WIM Kiran Manisha Mohanty 2198,
WFM Pon N Krithika 2191,
Amrutha Mokal 2163,
WFM Bhakti Kulkarni 2163

The men section will be a 13 rounds round robin, the women will play in the same format, but 11 rounds. Both competitions will be with time control 90 minutes for eac player with an addition of 30 sec per move from move number one.

tania sachdev

The rating favorite in the women section IM Tania Sachdev

Parimanjan Negi

The young star in the men section GM Parimarjan Negi

G N Gopal absent from competition

Note that the players in the men section are 13 instead of 14. This happened after G N Gopal’s refusal to participate in the competition. The AICF secretary D.V. Sundar told The Hindu on telephone from Chennai that the federation was left with no option but to take action against the player. “We had clearly instructed him to play in the National ‘A’ championship but he has decided to play in some tournament abroad instead,” he said. Because of Gopal’s withdrawal, one player will get a bye in each of the 13 rounds; veteran GM, Praveen Thipsay, was the beneficiary on the opening day.

Pairings round 1 men section

Thejkumar M S - IM Konguvel Ponnuswamy

IM Satyapragyan Swayangsu - IM Rathnakaran K

IM Shyam Sundar M - GM Neelotpal Das

IM Adhiban B - GM Ganguly Surya Shekhar

GM Negi Parimarjan - IM Sriram Jha

IM Akshayraj Kore - GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J

GM Thipsay Praveen M bye

46th National A championship – Official website

Pairings round 1 women section

IM Tania Sachdev 2425 - Amrutha Mokal 2163

WGM Soumya Swaminathan 2326 - WGM Gomes Mary Ann 2298

WGM Karavade Eesha 2386 - WGM Mohota Nisha 2312

WIM Kiran Manisha Mohanty 2198 - WIM Nadig Kruttika 2387

WFM Pon N Krithika 2191 - WIM Padmini Rout 2235

WFM Bhakti Kulkarni 2163 - WGM Swathi Ghate 2320

35th National A women championship – Official website