1st Florencio Campomanes Memorial

Zhao Jun declared winner on better tiebreak

The 1st Florencio Campomanes Memorial with 205 players in three sections was held from 28th August to 3rd September at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium in Manila, Philippines.

In the main open, top rated GM Le Quang Liem achieved a crucial victory in the last round against the third-seeded GM Zhou Jianchao to catch up with GM Zhao Jun on the shared first place. They both collected seven points from nine games. However, Zhao Jun was declared winner after summing up tiebreak scores.

Manila observing

Watching the top rated player in action

China 2009 champion GM Ding Liren and winner of the preceding 6th Prospero A. Pichay Jr. Cup GM Anton Filippov finished with the group of players at 6.5 points. Top Filipino performers were GM Wesley So, GM Darwin Laylo and IM Richard Bitoon, new member of the national squad replacing GM Rogelio Antonio, all concluding the campaign on 6.0 points.

Women Cup had 20 participants and among them seven Grandmasters. Shen Yang of China wins the race with 7.5 points from 9 rounds, half a point ahead of her compatriot Zhao Xue.

The unrated Emmanuel Emperado topped the Challengers Cup by collecting 8.0 points from nine games. 110 players took participation in this group.

The idea to hold the tournament was born two months ago in Manila during the visit of the FIDE President to the Philippines. Kirsan Ilyumzhinov proposed the organization and financing of a tournament with an unprecedented prize fund of 1 mln USD to grace the memory of his predecessor, the 5th FIDE President Florencio Campomanes.

These tournaments with prize fund of 100,000 USD each will be held for 10 years in various ASEAN countries.

Final standings:

1-2. GM ZHAO Jun CHN 2586 and GM LE Quang Liem VIE 2681 – 7.0

3-6. GM DING Liren CHN 2574, GM ZHOU Jianchao CHN 2668, GM GAGUNASHVILI Merab GEO 2596 and GM FILIPPOV Anton UZB 2609 – 6.5

7-13. GM SO Wesley PHI 2674, GM LAYLO Darwin PHI 2522, GM GHAEM MAGHAMI Ehsan IRI 2585, GM KAZHGALEYEV Murtas KAZ 2619, GM LI Chao B CHN 2629, IM BITOON Richard PHI 2447 and GM GELASHVILI Tamaz GEO 2605 – 6.0

14-17. GM NI Hua CHN 2645, GM ZHANG Zhong SIN 2582, SENADOR Emmanuel PHI 2393 and IM BARBOSA Oliver PHI 2458 – 5.5 etc

Manila speech

President of Philippines Chess Federation Prospero Pichay giving the opening speech

Manila friendly match

Friendly game between Kirsan Ilyumzhinov and President of Philippines National Olympic Committee Mr. Jose Cojuangco