China’s Li Chao B is Champion in Doeberl Cup 2010

Australian IM George Xie claims 2nd place and final GM norm

GM Li Chao B, the top-seed from China, emerged as the clear Champion in the just concluded Doeberl Cup 2010 Premier, scoring 7.5 points in the nine-round Swiss Tournament. The Australian IM George Xie concluded his fantastic run with 7.0 points and 2nd place in the tournament, adding a final third GM norm and 20 rating points to his achievement. The reigning Australian champion GM Zong-Yuan Zhao was defeated in the last round and finished shared 15th with 5.5 points.

Jagdish Dube noted the performances of Indian players: “GM Panchanathan Magesh Chandran stood 4th and India’s latest GM-elect Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury was ranked 6th (both with 6.5 points, from shared 3rd). Veteran GM Dibyendu Barua was placed 7th scoring 6/9, while former Indian National Champion GM Abhijit Kunte scored scored 5.5/9 & finished with a modest 16th in a field of 72 players around the globe. The lone women participant from India, WIM Sahali Dhar Barua, so-called better half of GM Dibyendu Barua, could score 4.0/9 points & finished with a poor 51st only.”

Khanty Li Chao

GM Li Chao B

Round 9 top results:

GM Li Chao B - GM Malaniuk Vladimir ½ – ½

GM Panchanathan Magesh Chandran - GM Smerdon David ½ – ½

GM Kunte Abhijit - IM Xie George Wendi 0 – 1

IM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi - GM Zhao Zong-Yuan 1 – 0

GM Jones Gawain C B - FM Rej Tomek ½ – ½

GM Bojkov Dejan - IM Lahiri Atanu 1 – 0

GM Barua Dibyendu - IM Sharma Dinesh K 1 – 0

IM Solomon Stephen – Ikeda Junta 1 – 0

FM Teichmann Erik O M C - IM Goldenberg Igor 1 – 0

FM Boyd Tristan - IM Toth Andras 1 – 0

Ly Moulthun - IM Lane Gary W 1 – 0

Final standings:

1. GM Li Chao B CHN 2613- 7.5

2. IM Xie George Wendi AUS 2470 – 7.0

3-6. GM Malaniuk Vladimir UKR 2582, GM Panchanathan Magesh Chandran IND 2543, GM Smerdon David AUS 2530 and IM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi IND 2429 – 6.5

7-14. GM Barua Dibyendu IND 2479, GM Bojkov Dejan BUL 2505, IM Solomon Stephen AUS 2426, GM Jones Gawain C B ENG 2556, FM Rej Tomek AUS 2348, FM Teichmann Erik O M C ENG 2325, Ly Moulthun AUS 2315 and FM Boyd Tristan AUS 2308 – 6.0

15-19. GM Zhao Zong-Yuan AUS 2592, GM Kunte Abhijit IND 2528, Cheng Bobby AUS 2271, IM Morris James AUS 2236 and IM Sandler Leonid AUS 2319 – 5.5 etc

O2C Doeberl Cup

The Sydney International Open begins in Sydney Australia following a rest day after the Doeberl Cup. There are two 9-round tournaments across the 5 day period, the Open which allows all players to enter or the Sydney International Challengers which is designed for players rated under 2000.

Olympus Room

The Olympus Room provided the main playing hall for O2C Doeberl Cup