India National Premier Chess Championship R12

Negi beat Arun Prasad, inches closer towards title

World second youngest ever Grandmaster Parimarjan Negi beat Grandmaster Arun Prasad in the penultimate round to extended his sole lead to full point in the ongoing REC National Premier Chess Championship here at K R Mangalam World School, GK-II on Tuesday. This crucial victory enabled Negi to took his point tally to nine points from possible twelve and he just need half point from the final round tomorrow to take the coveted National Champion title.

Playing with black pieces in Semi-Slav opening, Negi took the control early in the game and not allowed his opponent any breathing space to seal the match in just 31 moves. Meanwhile top seed G N Gopal agreed to split the point with former national champion Abhijit Kunte after the mandatory twenty five moves. Gopal along with former world under-14 champion Vidit Santosh Gujrathi and defending champion Grandmaster B Adhiban are now at joint second position with eight points.

Playing white side of Fianchetto variation of King’s Indian Defence, Vidit got better off seven time national champion Grandmaster Praveen Thipsay in thirty nine moves while Adhiban crushed team mate S Kidambi in just twenty two moves in Queen’s Gambit declined game.

India GM Parimarjan Negi

GM Parimarjan Negi

India GM Deep Sengupta

GM Deep Sengupta

In other important encounters in the twelfth round, International Master M R Lalith Babu held fifth seed Grandmaster Tejas Bakre of Air India while M R Venkatesh got the measure of Grandmaster Deepan Chakkravarthy in twenty five moves.

Continuing his fine run, Karnataka youngster G A Stany held third seed Grandmaster Deep Sengupta to a creditable draw while Navin Kanna stunned triple Grandmaster norm holder M S Thejkumar of Railways. International Master Vikramaditya Kamble overcomes Grandmaster Neelotpal Das and D P Singh held team mate Grandmaster R R Laxman in the twelfth round battle.

In the final round, Negi will takes on Bakre while Gopal and Vidit pitted against Adhiban and Kunte respectively. Final round of the championship will be held on Wednesday morning followed by closing ceremony in the afternoon.

India WGM Padmini Rout

WGM Padmini Rout

India IM D P Singh

IM D P Singh

India IM Prathamesh Mokal

IM Prathamesh Mokal

India IM Vikramaditya Kamble

IM Vikramaditya Kamble