Sydney International Chess Open

GM Dejan Bojkov sole leader after six rounds

Sydney 2010

The Sydney International Open started in Sydney, Australia, following a rest day after the Doeberl Cup. There are two 9-round tournaments across the five day period, the Open which allows all players to enter and the Sydney International Challengers which is designed for players rated under 2000.

The tournament runs on 6-11 April 2010 at the Parramatta Town Hall and the prize fund is totaling A$14,000. Principal sponsor is GM Murray Chandler.

The 8th seed GM Dejan Bojkov from Bulgaria earned an important win against Ukrainian GM Vladimir Malaniuk, which allowed him to move into the sole lead after six rounds of play. FM Daniel Howard Fernandez (2299), seeded only 22nd, takes another victory against higher rated opposition and is already sharing 2nd place, with a 1st table match against Bojkov scheduled for tomorrow.

Australian champion GM Zhao Zong-Yuan defeated Indian IM Sharma Dinesh, while Doeberl Cup winner and top rated player Li Chao B split the point with GM Gawain Jones on the first board.

Round 6 top results:

GM Jones Gawain C B - GM Li Chao B ½ – ½

GM Bojkov Dejan - GM Malaniuk Vladimir P 1 – 0

GM Zhao Zong-Yuan - IM Sharma Dinesh K 1 – 0

GM Kunte Abhijit - Ikeda Junta ½ – ½

IM Lahiri Atanu - FM Fernandez Daniel Howard 0 – 1

IM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi - GM Panchanathan Magesh Chandran ½ – ½

GM Smerdon David - FM Teichmann Erik O M C 1 – 0

Charles Gareth - GM Barua Dibyendu ½ – ½

IM Macak Stefan - Stojic Dusan 1 – 0

Ayvazyan Armen - IM Xie George Wendi 0 – 1

Samar Raul - GM Johansen Darryl K 0 – 1

Round 6 standings:

1. GM Bojkov Dejan BUL 2505 – 5.5

2-5. GM Zhao Zong-Yuan AUS 2592, GM Li Chao B CHN 2613, GM Jones Gawain C B ENG 2556 and FM Fernandez Daniel Howard SIN 2299 – 5.0

6-8. GM Kunte Abhijit IND 2528, Ikeda Junta AUS 2302 and GM Smerdon David AUS 2530 – 4.5

9-23. GM Malaniuk Vladimir P UKR 2582, GM Panchanathan Magesh Chandran IND 2543, IM Sharma Dinesh K IND 2361, IM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi IND 2429, Charles Gareth AUS 2148, GM Barua Dibyendu IND 2479, IM Macak Stefan SVK 2470, IM Lahiri Atanu IND 2368, CM Illingworth Max AUS 2289, IM Xie George Wendi AUS 2470, FM Rej Tomek AUS 2348, IM Solomon Stephen J AUS 2426, Steadman Michael NZL 2264, IM Rujevic Mirko AUS 2261 and GM Johansen Darryl K AUS 2457 – 4.0 etc

Round 7 top pairings:

FM Fernandez Daniel Howard - GM Bojkov Dejan

GM Li Chao B - GM Zhao Zong-Yuan

GM Kunte Abhijit - GM Jones Gawain C B

Ikeda Junta - GM Smerdon David

GM Malaniuk Vladimir P - IM Lahiri Atanu

GM Panchanathan Magesh Chandran - IM Solomon Stephen J

GM Barua Dibyendu - FM Rej Tomek

IM Sharma Dinesh K - IM Macak Stefan

IM Xie George Wendi - Steadman Michael

GM Johansen Darryl K - Charles Gareth

CM Illingworth Max - IM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi

More information on the official website

You must be logged in to post a comment Login