India team for Ningbo announced

Sashikiran, Negi, Harikrishna, Ganguly and Gopal to play

The All India Chess Federation selected the players which will represent the country at the World Chess Team Championship 2011 in Ningbo, China, FIDE Vice President and AICF Secretary D V Sundar confirmed for Chessdom.

The event will be held from July 15 2011 (arrival) to July 26 2011 (Departure) at the playing venue in New Century Grand Hotel Ningbo. The championship will be played using a 9 round, round-robin system.

The team will be led by Krishnan Sashikiran, second board is reserved for the reigning national champion Parimarjan Negi, there follow reigning Asia champion P.Harikrishna, 2009 Asia champion and Vishy Anand’s trusted second Surya Sekhar Ganguly, and 2010 India vice-champion Gopal.G.N.


Gopal.G.N. and Parimarjan Negi with trophies from the 2010 India Premier Championship

Russia team for Ningbo

Azerbaijan team for Ningbo

Israel team for Ningbo

Ukraine team for Ningbo

Hungary team for Ningbo