Serbian Teams for the ETCC

Branko Damljanovic returns from the mini-retirement

At the press conference held on 1st July Serbian Chess Federation has announced the teams for the European Team Chess Championship which will be played later this year in Greece.

Captain of the men’s team, GM Bosko Abramovic, drafted the following players – Ivan Ivanisevic, Branko Damljanovic (who is returning to the team after serving as a captain for the 2009 ETCC), Aleksandar Kovacevic, Milos Perunovic and Dragan Solak.

Captain of the women’s team, WGM Ana Benderac, decided on the following lineup – Natasa Bojkovic, Irina Chelushkina, Andjelija Stojanovic, Ljilja Drljevic and reigning junior champion Jovana Eric.

WWCC Natasa Bojkovic

Natasa Bojkovic

Benderac said that she hopes the team could repeat the excellent run from the 2010 Chess Olympiad when they constantly played on the top tables and contested the medal until the very last round. This time she hopes for better concentration in the final yards.

The federation also announced that Milos Roganovic and Jovana Eric will represent the country at the World Junior Championship on 1-16th August in Chennai, India.

Legendary Grandmaster Ljubomir Ljubojevic attended the press conference and gave valuable advice to the players and the chess federation.

Branko Damljanovic

Branko Damljanovic

You must be logged in to post a comment Login