Tata Steel Chess 2011 participants (rating update)

The successor of Corus starts in Wijk Aan Zee January 14, 2011

Tata Steel Chess

Tata Steel 2011, previously known as Corus, starts in less than 10 days in Wijk Aan Zee. It will keep the traditional 3 groups of 14 players format, in which players will face each other in a single round robin.

This is the first Grand Slam tournament of the calendar year 2011 and you know what to expect on Chessdom.com – live games with GM commentary, live computer analysis, videos, photos, daily reports, pgn, and all information that comes from Tata Steel chess 2011.

The commentators team for the Wijk Aan Zee chess meeting includes the renowned chess author and one of the top French players GM Christian Bauer, the commentator of Topalov – Anand match and currently number 1 junior in Spain IM Alexander Ipatov, and the notable chess coach IM Miodrag Perunovic.

Special guest appearances on Chessdom.com from GM Alexandra Kosteniuk, GM Henrik Danielsen, and more world famous players are expected, all with the final goal of giving more insight on the on board action at Tata Steel 2011.

Tata Steel 2011 participants

The January rating list is just out and here are the participants of this years edition of Tata Steel 2011 with their updated ratings.

Tata Steel Group A

Full Tata Steel A preview here

GM Magnus Carlsen NOR 2814

GM Viswanathan Anand IND 2810

GM Levon Aronian ARM 2805

GM Vladimir Kramnik RUS 2784

GM Alexander Grischuk RUS 2773

GM Hikaru Nakamura USA 2751

GM Ruslan Ponomariov UKR 2744

GM Wang Hao CHN 2731

GM Alexey Shirov SPA 2722

GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave FRA 2721

GM Ian Nepomniachtchi RUS 2715

GM Anish Giri NED 2686

GM Jan Smeets NED 2662

GM Erwin l’Ami NED 2628

Tata Steel Group B

Full Tata Steel B preview here

Radoslaw Wojtaszek POL 2726

David Navara CZE 2708

Laurent Fressinet FRA 2707

Zahar Efimenko UKR 2701

Gabriel Sargissian ARM 2667

Le Quang Liem VIE 2664

Wesley So PHI 2673

Luke McShane ENG 2664

Surya Ganguly IND 2651

Li Chao CHN 2649

Jon Ludvig Hammer NOR 2647

Vladislav Tkachiev FRA 2636

Friso Nijboer NED 2584

Wouter Spoelman NED 2547

Tata Steel Group C

Full Tata Steel C preview here

Murtas Kazhgaleyev KAZ 2637

Ivan Ivanisevic SRB 2630

Mark Bluvshtein CAN 2590

Daniele Vocaturo ITA 2570

Ilya Nyzhnyk UKR 2530

Dariusz Swiercz POL 2540

Katherina Lahno UKR 2518

Roland Pruijssers NLD 2484

Benjamin Bok NED 2453

Robin van Kampen NED 2443

Mark van der Werf NED 2439

Sebastian Siebrecht GER 2439

Jan Willem de Jong NED 2437

Tania Sachdev IND 2391