IM Gomez and GM Wesley So lead the Philippines for the Chess Olympiad in Dresden

GM Bong Villamayor, GM Darwin Laylo, GM Jayson Gonzales

Following the news of the Philippines national championship, the Olympiad team of the Philippines for Dresden 2008 is already known. The new champion IM Gomez and the young talent GM Wesley So will occupy the first two boards of the competition. They will be joined by the strong performing GM Bong Villamayor.

GMs Darwin Laylo and Jayson Gonzales complete the five-man team. GM Mark Paragua was tied with Laylo and Gonzales with 10 points, but he owned the lowest tie-break score. Thus he could not qualify for the Chess Olympiad. Paragua will lead the other Philippine team in the World Mind Games scheduled in October in Beijing. IMs Chito Garma, Nolte, Julio Sadorra and National Master Leonardo Carlos will join Paragua.

More Chess Olympiad 2008 teams







You must be logged in to post a comment Login