IM Srinath Narayanan wins Colombo International Chess Festival


IM Srinath Narayanan

IM Srinath Narayanan (India) wins “2nd Colombo International Chess Festival 2009″ which concluded today at Royal College Union Auditorium, Colombo. IM Srinath Narayanan scored 8 points out of 9 games, to take clear first half a point ahead of IM Laxman R.R. Third place was for Kalugampitiya with the same points, but better tiebreak than IM Deshmukh.

Srinath Narayanan is a chess prodigy. He became the youngest rated player in India in 2002.In July 2005, he won the under-12 world chess championship held in Belfort, France, along with three other top youngsters – Sanan Sjugirov of Russia, Samvel Ter Sahakyan of Armenia and Wesley So of Philippines.

1 IM Narayanan Srinath 8

2 IM Laxman R.R. 7.5

3 Kalugampitiya Rajeendra 7.5

4 IM Deshmukh Anup 7.5

5 Weerawardena Romesh 7

6 Russell M.K.A. 7

7 Kurukulasuriya Prasanna 7

8 Miraj D.A. 7

9 Peiris T.G.M. 6.5

10 Navalgund Niranjan 6.5

Total: 154 players


Champion -IM Srinath Narayanan (India)

Best Woman – Dinushki Premanath High Scool, Kandy, Sri Lanka

Under 10 Boys First Place – Kushagra Sharma (India)

Under 10 Girls First Place – D.W.Apurwa Dhanawalawithana

Under 12 Boys First Place – Nimantha Saranapala

Under 12 Girls First Place – Manisha Gunaratne

Under 15Boys First Place – Niranjan Navalgund (India)

Under 15 Girls First Place -I.U. Basnayake

Best Unrated 1st Place – T.S.S. Peiris

Rating Between 1200 and 1799 First Place – Shanaka Munasinghe

Rating Between 1800 and 1999 First Place – D.A.Miraj

Official website

Sri Lanka Open International Chess Championship 2009

The Sri Lanka Open International Chess Championship 2009 will take place in Kandy, Sri Lanka, from 6th to 11th March. The competition is organized by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka with a total prize fund of Rs. 200,000.

GMs, IMs, WGMs, WIMs, will be given a travel grant of Rs. 10,000 and a free entry.

All inquires and registration should be directed to Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya, Chairman of the organizing committee

You must be logged in to post a comment Login